For Tom

The Unfair Game of Ordinary Days

i.m. Tom Hanrahan RIP December 14th 2014

A sliced pan
A box of tea
Two litres of milk
No problem
(A death just after lunch)
The hidden item on a shopping list

A handy trip
Collect a bag
‘Love You’
Back for tea
(A tragic No Return)
An unknown on an ordinary day

Mammyhood and Daddyhood 
Looking forward
Extra fuel
All under control
(Tragedy in an unexpected way)
The unanticipated on a ‘to-do’ list

Who makes these rules
Deals out these Hammer Blows
Which Gods play this way
Throw over the board
Scatter all the pieces
End the game
Leave all the players crying
Because the game is spoiled.

Maybe there is a game plan
But I, being only mortal
Fail to see it.

Martin Swords
December 2014
Friend of Tom and Co-Worker in Glendalough Arts Network

Tom and I talked about Poetry once. I spoke in awe about his skills in mechanics and engineering. 
He said ‘I know how to build an engine, but I don’t know how to write a poem’. 
Tom, I would rather not be writing this poem for you. Martin

The Unfair Game of Ordinary Days

i.m. Tom Hanrahan RIP December 14th 2014

A sliced pan
A box of tea
Two litres of milk
No problem
(A death just after lunch)
The hidden item on a shopping list

A handy trip
Collect a bag
‘Love You’
Back for tea
(A tragic No Return)
An unknown on an ordinary day

Mammyhood and Daddyhood
Looking forward
Extra fuel
All under control
(Tragedy in an unexpected way)
The unanticipated on a ‘to-do’ list

Who makes these rules
Deals out these Hammer Blows
Which Gods play this way
Throw over the board
Scatter all the pieces
End the game
Leave all the players crying
Because the game is spoiled.

Maybe there is a game plan
But I, being only mortal
Fail to see it.

Martin Swords
December 2014
Friend of Tom and Co-Worker in Glendalough Arts Network

Tom and I talked about Poetry once. I spoke in awe about his skills in mechanics and engineering.
He said ‘I know how to build an engine, but I don’t know how to write a poem’.
Tom, I would rather not be writing this poem for you. Martin

